Facts about district heating

  • A district heating system comprise of three parts: An exchanger unit (at the customer), a heating production plant and a district heating grid. Heat is transferred from the district heating grid to the customer’s own heating system in the customer exchange unit.
  • The most common energy sources for district heating are waste, biofuel, heat pumps, landfill gas, natural gas, propane/butane gas, electricity and fuel oil.
  • Statkraft Varme owns district heating plants in Trondheim, Gardermoen, Harstad, Moss, Namsos, Nannestad, Sandefjord, Stjørdal og Ås.
  • Production of 530 GWh of district heating each year covers around 30 percent of heating requirements in Trondheim.
  • The plants at Porsgrunn, Horten, Jarlsbø and Tønsberg (Skagerak Varme) produce around 25 GWh of district heating per annum.
  • In Sweden Statkraft Varme AB generates 320 GWh each year, based on wood pellet-fired heating centres in Kungsbacka, Alingsås, Trosa, Vagnharad and Åmal.
  • Statkraft aims to achieve further growth within district heating, and is applying for licences to both expand the existing district heating grid and construct new district heating facilities via wholly and partly owned subsidiaries.