Global flag icon
Albania flag icon
Brazil flag icon
Chile flag icon
Croatia flag icon
Finland flag icon
France flag icon
Germany flag icon
India flag icon
Ireland flag icon
Italy flag icon
Netherlands flag icon
Norway flag icon
Peru flag icon
Poland flag icon
Portugal flag icon
Spain flag icon
Sweden flag icon
Türkiye flag icon
United Kingdom flag icon
United Kingdom
United States flag icon
United States

Statkraft AS: Changes in the board of directors

29 Jun, 2016

(Oslo 29 June 2016) Thorhild Widvey is elected new chair of the board of directors in Statkraft. Halvor Stendstadvold is elected as new deputy chair. Peter Mellbye, Helene Biström and Bengt Ekenstierna are new board members.

Thorhild Widvey has extensive board experience from various companies and is today a board member in Kværner. She has previously been Minister of Culture (2013-2015), Minister of Petroleum and Energy (2004-2005), as well as State Secretary in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (2003-2004) and the Ministry of Fisheries (2002-2003).

Peter Mellbye has a degree in political science (majors) and degrees in economics and public law (intermediate degrees). He has had a long career in Statoil, where he was part of the corporate management team for several years.

Helene Biström has a Master of Science and extensive leadership experience from Vattenfall. She is today a board member in Sveaskog and Cramo Oy.

Bengt Ekenstierna has a Master of Science and has held several leadership positions in E.ON Sverige (formerly Sydkraft).  He works today among other things as an advisor for One Nordic.

Olav Fjell, Berit Rødseth and Elisabeth Morthen are now stepping down from the board, while Harald von Heyden stepped down in December 2015.

The board of directors in Statkraft AS now consists of:
  • Chair: Thorhild Widvey
  • Deputy chair: Halvor Stenstadvold
  • Board member: Hilde Drønen
  • Board member: Peter Mellbye
  • Board member: Helene Biström
  • Board member Bengt Ekenstierna
  • Board member: Vilde Eriksen Bjerknes (employee elected board member)
  • Board member: Asbjørn Sevlejordet (employee elected board member)
  • Board member: Thorbjørn Holøs (employee elected board member)

The board of directors in Statkraft AS is identical with the board of directors in Statkraft SF.

For further information, please contact:
Press spokesman Knut Fjerdingstad, tel.: +47 901 86 310, e-mail:
SVP Investor Relations Thomas Geiran, tel.: +47 905 79 979, e-mail:



Statkraft is a leading company in hydropower internationally and Europe's largest generator of renewable energy. The Group produces hydropower, wind power, gas-fired power and district heating and is a global player in energy market operations. Statkraft has 4200 employees in more than 20 countries.


This information is subject to the disclosure requirements pursuant to section 5-12 of the Norwegian Securities Trading Act.