Global flag icon
Albania flag icon
Brazil flag icon
Chile flag icon
Croatia flag icon
Finland flag icon
France flag icon
Germany flag icon
India flag icon
Ireland flag icon
Italy flag icon
Netherlands flag icon
Norway flag icon
Peru flag icon
Poland flag icon
Portugal flag icon
Spain flag icon
Sweden flag icon
Türkiye flag icon
United Kingdom flag icon
United Kingdom
United States flag icon
United States

Statkraft AS: Changes in the Board of Directors

30 Nov, 2023

Alexandra Bech Gjørv is elected new Chair of the Board of Directors in Statkraft. Lars Røsæg is new Board member.

Alexandra Bech Gjørv is CEO of SINTEF and has extensive executive management experience from Hydro and Equinor. She is a lawyer and has worked in several law firms in Norway and the United States. Gjørv has been Chair and Board member of several foreign and Norwegian industrial and energy companies such as Hafslund, Eidsiva Energi, Technip, Norske Skog and Schibsted. Gjørv chaired the independent 22 July Commission, examining the 2011 terror attacks in Oslo and at Utøya.

Woman smiling
Picture: Terje Trobe / SINTEF

Lars Røsæg is an investment partner in Salvesen & Thams, and has broad experience from executive management positions in Norwegian industrial companies. Until recently he was Deputy CEO and EVP Corporate Development in Yara. 

Man with glasses looking into the camera

Alexandra Bech Gjørv succeeds Thorhild Widvey, who steps down from the Chair position at her own request. The planned changes in the Board of Directors of Statkraft have been brought forward in connection with the appointment of a successor to Christian Rynning-Tønnesen, who earlier this autumn informed the Board that he wishes to resign as CEO of Statkraft AS after almost 14 years. Gjørv will thus be leading the Board’s work to recruit a new CEO.

Vice Chair Peter Mellbye steps down from the Board and Ingelise Arntsen is elected as the new Vice Chair. She currently chairs the Board’s Audit Committee and has been a Board member of Statkraft since 2017. 

Thorhild Widvey has been the Chair of Statkraft’s Board of Directors since 2016, and Peter Mellbye a Board member since the same year. Since 2016, the company has more than doubled its value and is today one of Norway’s largest companies with an enterprise value of more than 300 billion NOK.

“As responsible for the management of the Norwegian State’s ownership in Statkraft, I would like to thank Thorhild Widvey and Peter Mellbye for their significant contributions as Chair and Vice Chair of Statkraft for almost 8 years. During these years, Statkraft has further developed and consolidated its position as a leading renewable energy player both in Norway and internationally. Both Widvey and Mellbye have been central to this development,” says Minister of Trade and Industry Jan Christian Vestre.

“I look forward to taking on the role of Chair of Statkraft, Europe’s largest generator of renewable energy. Green energy is crucial to solving the climate challenges and succeeding with the energy transformation that Norway, Europe and the world depend on. Statkraft has a strong organisation and is well positioned to continue delivering high value creation and growth,” says Alexandra Bech Gjørv, Chair of Statkraft’s Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors in Statkraft AS now consists of:

  • Chair: Alexandra Bech Gjørv
  • Vice Chair: Ingelise Arntsen
  • Board Member: Mikael Lundin
  • Board Member: Pål Erik Sjåtil
  • Board Member: Marit Salte
  • Board Member: Lars Røsæg
  • Board Member: Marte Lind (employee elected)
  • Board Member: Lars Mathisen (employee elected)
  • Board Member: Thorbjørn Holøs (employee elected)

The Board of Directors in Statkraft AS is identical to the Board of Directors in Statkraft SF.

This information is subject to the disclosure requirements pursuant to section 5-12 of the Norwegian Securities Trading Act.

For more information, please contact:

Claus Sonberg
SVP Corporate Communication and Marketing